Home ODISHA LATEST Odisha govt constitutes 17-member Shri Jagannath Temple committee

Odisha govt constitutes 17-member Shri Jagannath Temple committee


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Puri, July 23:

The Odisha government on Tuesday constituted a 17-member new managing committee of the Shri Jagannath temple in Puri.

Puri Jagannath TempleA notification to this effect has been issued by the Law department with due approval of chief minister Naveen Patnaik, sources said.

While the Gajapati Maharaja of Puri Dibyasingh Deb, the permanent president of the committee, will head the managing commitee, the other ex-officio members are the state development commissioner (vice-president) , endowment commissioner, additional secretary, Law, superintendent of Archaeological Survey of India (ASI), Puri collector and SP.

The committee also includes among others Jagannath Rath ( Mukti Mandap Pandi Sabha), Er Baladev Singhari, Purnachandra Pujapanda Samant,  Kanduri Maha Suara, Kishore Mohapatra, Premananda Das Mohapatra (all sevayat representatives),  Rama Chandra Das Maharaj, Dr Bijay Kumar Sahu and Mahi Mohan Tripathy

It may be recalled that the Shri Jagannath Temple Admistration (SJTA) had recommended the names of the sevayat representatives in accordance with the rules of the temple.

The term of the previous committee had expired in February this year.

The most important challenge before the new committee is the smooth conduct of the Nabakalebara festival scheduled next year.