Home ART & CULTURE Odisha filmmaker gets National Award for ‘Adim Vichar’

Odisha filmmaker gets National Award for ‘Adim Vichar’


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
New Delhi, May 3:

Odisha filmmaker Sabyasachi Mohapatra received the National Film Award for the best Odia film in the regional category for his film ‘Adim Vichar’.

adim vichar

The award-winning Odisha director received the Rajat Kamal for ‘Adim Vichar’ from President Pranab Mukherjee at a glittering ceremony at Vigyan Bhawan here today. The award was announced in the last week of March.

Shashi Kapoor, honoured with the Dadasaheb Phalke award this year, couldn’t attend and the veteran actor will be feted in Mumbai soon.


‘Adim Vichar’ wins National Film Award as best Odia film (Follow the link below)


The award ceremony, with 45 awards in the Feature Film category and a total of 21 awards in the Non-Feature film category, was attended by Bollywood bigwigs along with leading lights of the Bengali, Marathi, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu and Assamese film industries.

The ceremony also saw performances by award winners Sukhwinder Singh, who won the Best Male Playback Singer for the song “Bismil” from “Haider”, and Uttara Unnikrishanan, who bagged the Best Playback Female Singer for the song “Azhagu” from Tamil movie “Saivam”.

A special film on Shashi Kapoor was also shown on the occasion, where Pallavi Joshi and Rajat Kapoor played the hosts.

The president too gave “special congratulations” to the ailing 77-year-old actor.

“My special congratulation is to Shri Shashi Kapoor, who has been honoured with the Dadasaheb Phalke Award this year. His contribution to cinema has been tremendous. He is a true living legend. He began his career as a child artist in the films ‘Aag’ and ‘Awara’, and then we saw him as a flamboyant hero in many blockbuster films.”

“He made his mark not only as an actor, but also as a producer and made remarkable contribution to the Indian cinema, where he balanced his work in theatre and cinema. Shri Sashi Kapoor is the third person to win the Dadasaheb Phalke award in his family — the other two being Prithviraj Kapoor and Raj Kapoor. I wish him a long and healthy life,” he said.

Dressed in a floor sweeping gown, Kangana Ranaut received the Best Actress honour from the president. The Best Actor award was picked up by Vijay for his “subtle and non-stereotypical playing of a woman trapped in a man’s body”, in Kannada film “Nanu Avanalla Avalu”.

The team of “Haider” – a modern-day adaptation of William Shakespeare’s classic tragedy “Hamlet” – set in the backdrop of Kashmir, was also present at the ceremony where the film won Best Dialogues and Music Direction for the film’s director Vishal Bhardwaj; Best Choreography for Norway-based Sudesh Adhana; and Best Costume Designer for Dolly Ahluwalia.

Vikramaditya Motwane and Vikas Bahl received the honours for “Queen” for the Best Hindi film.

Other films which got get awards in Best Film category are “Othello” (Assamese), “Nirbashito” (Bengali), “Harivu” (Kannada), “Nachom – IA Kumpasar” (Konkani), “Ain” (Malayalam), “Killa” (Marathi), “Aadim Vichar” (Odiya), “Punjab 1984” (Punjabi), “Kuttram Kadithal” (Tamil) and “Chandamama Kathalu” (Telugu).

Omung Kumar, whose “Mary Kom” won the Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment, turned up in a black ensemble with stripes.

In the Best Children’s Film category, there was a tie between Marathi entertainer “Elizabeth Ekadashi” and Tamil movie “Kaakkaa Muttai”, for which actor Dhanush accepted the award.

Complete list of winners

Best Feature Film:Court (Marathi, Hindi, Gujarati & English)
Best Popular Film for Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Mary Kom
Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director: Asha for Jaoar Majhe
Special Jury Award: Khwada (Marathi)
Best Direction: Srijit Mukherji for Chotushkone (Bengali)
Best Actress: Kangana Ranaut for Queen
Best Actor: Vijay for Nanu Avanalla Avalu (Kannada)
Best Supporting Actor: Bobby Simhaa for Jigarthanda (Tamil)
Best Supporting Actress: Baljinder Kaur for Pagdi The Honour (Haryanavi)
Best Child Actor: Kaakkaa Muttai (Tamil)
Best Female Playback Singer: Uttara Unnikrishanan for Azhagu, Saivam (Tamil)
Best Costume Designer: Haider (Hindi) Dolly Ahluwalia
Best Make-up Artist: Nangaraju & Raju for Nanu Avanalla Avalu (Kannada)
Best Cinematography: Chotushkone (Bengali)
Best Editing: Vivek Harshan for Jigarthanda (Tamil)
Best Production Design: Aparna Raina for Nachom – IA Kumpasar (Konkani)
Best Screenplay Writer (Original): Srijit Mukherji for Chotushkone (Bengali)
Best Screenplay Writer (Adapted) : Joshy Mangalath for Ottal (Malayalam)
Best Dialogues: Vishal Bhardwaj for Haider
Best Lyrics: NA. Muthukumar for Azhagu, Saivam (Tamil)
Best Music Direction Songs: Haider
Best Music Direction Background Score: Nineteen Eighty Three (Malayalam)
Best Audiography – Location Sound Recordist: Mahaveer Sabbanwal for Khwada (Marathi)
Best Audiography – Sound Designer: Anish John for Asha Jaoar Majhe (Bengali)
Best Audiography – Re-recordist of the final mixed track: Anirban
Sengupta & Dipankar Chaki for Nirbashito (Bengali)
Best Choreography: Sudesh Bismil, Haider
Best Assamese Film: Othello
Best Bengali Film: Nirbashito
Best Hindi Film: Queen
Best Rabha Film: Orong
Best Haryanvi Film: Pagdi The Honour
Best Punjabi Film: Punjab 1984
Best Tamil Film: Kuttram Kadithal
Best Telugu Film: Chandamama Kathalu
Best Malayalam Film: Ain
Best Marathi Film: Killa
Best Odiya Film: Aadim Vichar
Best Kannada Film: Harivu
Best Konkani Film:Nachom – IA Kumpasar
Special Mention: Killa (Marathi), Bhootnath Returns (Hindi), Ain
(Malayalam), Nachom – IA Kumpasar (Konkani)
Best Film on Environment Consevation/Preservation: Ottaal (Malayalam)
Best Educational Film: Komal & Behind the Glass Wall
Best Exploration/ Adventure Film: Life Force – India’s Western Ghats
Best Investigative Film: Phum Shang
Best Animation Film: Sound of Joy
Best Short Fiction Film: Mitraa
Best Film on Social Issues: Chotoder Chobi
Best Children’s Film: Kaakkaa Muttai (Tamil) & Elizabeth Ekadashi (Marathi)
Best Film Critic: Tanul Thakur
Best Book on Cinema: Silent Cinema: (1895-1930)