Odisha decides to develop four more airstrips

Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Nov 20:

The Odisha government today decided to increase runway length of Rangeilunda, Jeypore, Padmapur and Baripada airstrips to facilitate landing of big aircrafts.

Jeypore airstrip

The decision was taken at a meeting chaired by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik at the state secretariat here today to review development of different airstrips in the state, said an official release.

Work is already on to increase runway length of Rourkela, Jharsuguda, Lanjigarh and Angul airstrips to 5,000 ft, the meeting was told.

This apart, extension of helicopter services to different places in the state figured during the discussions at the meeting.

It was revealed at the meeting that currently 28 airstrips exist in the state. Out of these 12 are under government control and the remaining are under control of private parties and erstwhile princely states.

Also Read

Comments are closed.