Home BIG STORY Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik crowned BJD chief for 7th term

Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik crowned BJD chief for 7th term


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Feb 28:

As a mere formality, the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) today announced the name of Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik as its president who was elected for the seventh time on a trot unopposed after he emerged as the lone contender to file nomination papers for the post.

File Pic
File Pic

Party’s returning officer and BJD leader Pratap Keshari Deb made the formal announcement at the party headquarters here.

“He was elected unopposed as the president of BJD,” Pratap Keshari Deb said.

Besides, names of eighty state executive members were also announced. The party’s organizational elections, a triennial affair, saw 33 new faces as members of the council.

“I thank all the BJD workers for their support,” Naveen expressed after the announcement.

Notably, the organisational polls of BJD were held in five phases. The process reached the final stage with the filing of nominations for the post of president. Parliamentary Affairs Minister and senior BJD leader Bikram Keshari Arukh had filed the nomination papers on behalf of Naveen Patnaik on Friday.

The party had appointed district returning officers (DROs) for 32 organisational districts in December last year to start the process for party polls.

Patnaik is the founder president of the BJD, which came into being after the death of Biju Patnaik in 1997.