Home ART & CULTURE Odisha CM Inaugurates Bhubaneswar Literary Meet

Odisha CM Inaugurates Bhubaneswar Literary Meet


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Jan 9:

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today inaugurated the first edition of Tata Steel Literary Meet being held at the Lalitkala Akademi of Bhubaneswar.

Naveen BDO Conference

“Literature is something that gives us a meaningful insight into life. It makes our mind discerning, erudite and polished. It allows us to see the world with a deeper prospective. Literature opens and broadens our mind and allows us to respect diverse views of life. A piece of literature is our way deep into the world of liberated mind,” said Patnaik speaking on the occasion.

While lauding Tata Steel for this initiative in literary field, Patnaik added, “Even though volumes of literature are there in various regional languages, they do not get the limelight they deserve. Therefore, it is pertinent to mention that we now need to focus on translation for the growth of local literature.”

“Odia Literature has a rich legacy of eminent writers and marvellous collections of their literary work. The Tata Steel Bhubaneswar Literary Meet is a wonderful platform for all lovers of books and literature in Bhubaneswar to celebrate their love for literature and exchange of ideas. This year’s edition of the Tata Steel Bhubaneswar Literary Meet will witness a confluence of the brightest literary minds from across the nation. For us at Tata Steel, it is an opportunity to connect and engage with people across generations in the state,” said Tata Steel MD T V Narendran addressing the gathering.

On the day one, apart from Chief Minister Patnaik and Narendran, many other eminent personalities including acclaimed journalist Rajdeep Sardesai, senior Congress leader Jairam Ramesh were also present. Odia version of ‘Romance of Tata Steel’ translated by Arabinda Behera was launched by Patnaik on the occasion.

The two days long event will witness meaningful debates and discussion. On the second day tomorrow, many eminent guests have been scheduled to speak including Devdutt Patnaik, Dinanath Pathy, Nibedita Mohanty, Sampad Mohapatra, Avirook Sen, Derek O’Brien, Sarnath Banerjee, Nil Madhab Panda, Sugata Bose, Anirudha Bhattacharjee, Kunal Basu, Yajnaseni Chakraborty, Balaji Vittal, Sujit Mohapatra, Minati Mishra, Anant Mahapatra, Jatindra Nayak and Sabyasachi Mishra.