Home ODISHA LATEST Odisha CM inaugurates 35 model police stations

Odisha CM inaugurates 35 model police stations


Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today inaugurated the Airport Model Police Station in the State capital. It has been envisaged as a sequel to the opening of the International Airport at Bhubaneswar.

Besides, the CM launched 35 Model Police Stations, one in each district through video conferencing from the State Secretariat here.

The Chief Minister also flagged off 12 PCR mobile vans meant for increased police mobility and patrolling in Bhubaneswar for the ensuing World Cup Hockey and thereafter, for prompt and better response to people in need.

Naveen  flagged off 35 new Boleros and 70 new motorcycles meant for the 35 Model Police Stations.  There are additional vehicles provided to the Model Police Stations to improve mobility and efficiency.

He also interacted with people present at seven Model Police Stations at Semiliguda of Koraput district, Bada Bazar of Berhampur, Nalco of Angul, Puri Town of Puri, Sahadevkhunta of Balasore, Khetrajpur of Sambalpur and Plantsite of Rourkela districts.

The Chief Minister expressed his happiness while launching the Model Police Stations and said, “This will inspire confidence among the public and shall go a long way in making the police not only smart but also people friendly.”

Development Commissioner R. Balakrishnan who also attended the ceremony, expressed happiness on the performance of Odisha Police in maintenance of law and order, crime control, disaster response and combating left wing extremists. He also complimented the new idea of Model Police Stations.

Commissioner of Police, Bhubaneswar-Cuttack, Satyajit Mohanty, gave the vote of thanks.