Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar/Kolkata, Jan 31:

Odisha pulled off a stunning win against Jharkhand in an east zone clash of the Inter State Syed Mushtaq Ali Twenty20 cricket tournament at Eden Garden today.

Winning the toss, Odisha put Jharkahand to bat where the latter put up 149 on board losing five wickets. Chasing a modest total of 150 in stipulated 20 overs, Odisha clinched the cliffhanger with three wickets and a ball to spare.

Left-hand batsman Anurag Sarangi’s brilliant 48-ball 58 and Abhishek Yadav’s blistering innings, who struck an unbeaten 26 of nine balls, guided Odisha to a thrilling win.

Varun Aaron dealt the first blow to Odisha after Sandeep Pattanaik’s early exit. However, Paresh Patel and Anurag Sarangi’s 61-run second-wicket partnership steadied Odisha’s innings.

For Jharkhand, opener Ishank Jaggi scored 47 and Kumar Deobrat remained unbeaten on 44.

This is Odisha’s second win in a row. Odisha to face Bengal next on February 3.