Home ODISHA LATEST Odisha Assembly adjourned till 5 pm after condolence motion on Habibulla Khan

Odisha Assembly adjourned till 5 pm after condolence motion on Habibulla Khan


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Feb 16:

Speaker Niranjan Pujari today adjourned the Odisha Assembly till 5 PM in honour of former Odisha minister and pro-tem speaker Habibulla Khan after the House adopted a condolence motion moved by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on the senior Congress leader’s demise.


Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik moved a motion to condole the death of Habibulla Khan as soon as the House assembled to transact its business today.

Speaker Niranjan Pujari, Leader of the Opposition and senior Congress leader Narasingh Mishra, BJD members and CPI (M) member Laxman Munda spoke on the motion. The House observed a minute’s silence in memory of the departed leader.

“The sad demise of late Habibulla Khan, ex-minister of this august House, is a great loss to the state and to the members of his bereaved family,” said Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik while moving the motion to condole Habibulla Khan’s death.

Patnaik requested the Speaker to convey the House’s sincere condolences to the members of the bereaved family.

“This veteran leader passed away on February 14 at the age of 81 years. I agree with the motion moved by the leader of the House and offer my heartfelt respects to the soul of the departed leader. I will convey the sympathies expressed in the House on his demise to the bereaved family members,” said Speaker Niranjan Pujari in the House.

“His death is certainly a great loss to the state, to the people, to his family and to the Congress party. On my behalf and on behalf of my party, I request you Sir to convey our condolence to the bereaved family,” said Leader of the Opposition Narasingh Mishra speaking on the motion.

Habibulla Khan, who had acted as the pro-tem speaker in the 12th and 13th Odisha Assembly, passed away on Saturday at a hospital in Vishakhapatnam following a protracted illness.