Home HEADLINES Noted Odisha filmmaker Sarada Nayak to receive Jayadev Award

Noted Odisha filmmaker Sarada Nayak to receive Jayadev Award


Odisha Sun Times Bureau

Bhubaneswar, Nov 14:

Eminent filmmaker and lyricist of Odisha, Sarada Prasanna Nayak, will receive the prestigious Jayadev Puraskar of the 25th State Film Awards for the year 2013 for his lifetime achievement.

Sarada Prasanna Nayak
Sarada Prasanna Nayak

This was announced by Tourism and Culture minister Ashok Panda here on Thursday.

The award, carrying a cash award of Rs 1 lakh, a citation and a shawl, would be conferred on Nayak at a glittering ceremony at Utkal Mandap in the city here on November 21.

Apart from this, noted filmmaker Sabyasachi Mohapatra will get the Mohan Sundar Dev Goswami Award as the Best Director for his film ‘Sala Budha’ (The Stupid Old Man), a movie in Sambalpuri dialect highlighting the plight of elderly in villages of Western Odisha.

The Best Actor Award will be conferred on Atal Bihari Panda for his role in Sala Budha while Archita Sahu will receive the Best Actress Award for her role as a police officer in ‘ACP Sagarika’.

Besides, awards will be given in 27 other sections.
Others who have been chosen for the award are as follows:

Best Supporting Actor: Ashok Das (Bachelor)
Best Supporting Actress: Sadhana Parida (Rumku Jhumana)
Best Comedian: Antaryami Panda (Gadbad)
Best Child Actor: Bhumika Das (Rumku Jhumana)
Best Music Director Award: Pankaj Jal and Ghasiram Mishra (Sala Budha)
Best Female Singer Award: Ira Mohanty (Mu Raja Tu Rani)
Best Male Playback Singer: Ratikanta Satpathy (Rumku Jhumana)

A seven-member jury selected the awardees on the basis of social relevance of films, originality of the scripts and technical standards.

Apart from the State Films Awards, the minister also announced the second State Tele Awards.

The Tele Awards are as follows:
Best Tele Serial Award: Ahya Sulakhyani
Best Tele Director Award: Narottam Parida (Ahya Sulakhyani)
Best Tele Actor Award: Jagabandhu Panda (Ahya Sulakhyani)
Best Tele Actress Award: Sweety Patnaik (Ahuti)
Special Jury Awards: Trupti Das and Sourav Nayak

The State Tele Awards will be given away at Utkal Mandap on November 22.