Home ODISHA LATEST No ULB polls in 9 districts for now: SEC

No ULB polls in 9 districts for now: SEC


Reported by Chinmaya Dehury/Edited by Sandeep Sahu

Bhubaneswar, Aug 29:

The State Election Commission (SEC) today announced that elections to urban local bodies (ULBs), scheduled for September 19, will not be held for the time being in nine districts of western Odisha in view of the ongoing strike in these districts demanding a permanent bench of the High Court in the region.

ajit tripathy

“Election would not be held in nine districts of western Odisha as the agitation of lawyers is continuing. The offices are closed, which has affected the scrutiny of nomination papers filed by aspiring candidates,” state election commissioner Ajit Tripathy told media persons here.

The districts where ULB elections would not be held are: Bolangir, Bargarh, Deogarh, Jharsuguda, Kalahandi, Nuapada, Sambalpur, Sundargarh and Sonepur.

“The election process has been halted based on the reports of SPs and Collectors. New dates for conduct of elections will be announced after examining the law and order situation and getting reports from respective district collectors,” said Tripathy.

No nomination papers were filed in these districts with all political parties extending their support to the demand for a permanent bench of High Court in western Odisha.