Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Keonjhar, Jun 28: 

Two months after ousting Anandpur Municipality Vice-Chairperson Sandhyarani Behera, nine councillors from that municipality today served a notice for a no trust vote against Chairperson Saraswati Jena.


The councillors today met the district Collector on this context and alleged widespread corruption in the municipality.

“Nine councillors from Anandpur municipality today came to me and submitted a notice for No Confidence Motion against the chairman. We are reviewing the legal aspects of it. An appropriate decision will taken according to the municipal law,” said Keonjhar Collector N Thirumala Nayak.

Out of the nine councillors, five belong to Biju Janata Dal, two are from Congress and the remaining two are independent candidates.

The chairmanship of Jena is under threat as the faction of dissents constitutes a majority in the 16 member council of Anandpur.

Sitting Chairman Jena, however, said that she has no knowledge pertaining to any such development.

“I do not know anything about it. They were all very friendly with me and supported me. I also did whatever they suggested. I am not sure what prompted them to serve a notice for a No Confidence Motion. I would not be able to comment until I understand what prompted their action,” said Jena.

It may be noted here that toppling the leadership through No Confidence Motion is nothing new in Keonjhar politics. Earlier on March 18, twelve councillors voted against Vice-Chairperson Sandhyarani Behera in a no-confidence motion forcing her to resign. Besides, the Chairperson of Keonjhar Municipality Meena Majhi had been ousted on December 28, 2015 in similar fashion.