Home ODISHA LATEST Pujari elected Odisha Assembly Speaker

Pujari elected Odisha Assembly Speaker


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, May 26:

Sonepur BJD MLA Niranjan Pujari was elected the new Speaker of the 15th Odisha Assembly here this morning.The four-time legislator was elected unopposed as no other candidate was fielded by any political party against him.

Niranjan Pujari
Niranjan Pujari

Pujari, 53, is a four-time legislator and was re-elected from Sonepur constituency.

He was a cabinet minister in the state from 2011-14 and held charge of the departments of industries, excise, food supplies and consumer welfare, and science and technology.

At 11 AM, chief minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik brought a motion and proposed the election of Pujari as the Speaker.

His proposal was seconded by Parliamentary Affairs minister Bikram Keshari Arukh following which the pro-tem Speaker V Sugyan Kumari Deo declared Pujari elected to the exalted position.

The BJD supremo had submitted a proposal naming Pujari as the BJD nominee for the post of Speaker to the secretary of the State Assembly Amiya Sarangi on Saturday.

Government chief whip Anant Das had issued whip to all 117 party MLAs to remain present at the House during the election of the new Speaker.