Home ODISHA LATEST Newly elected Odisha MLAs take oath

Newly elected Odisha MLAs take oath



Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, May 23:

Pro-tem Speaker of Odisha Assembly V Sugnan Kumari Deo administered oath of office and secrecy to some of the 147  elected MLAs here this morning.

assembly3Ms Deo administered oath to chief minister Naveen Patnaik.

While some MLAs have already taken oath, the remaining MLAs would take oath tomorrow, sources said.

While the election of the Speaker is due on May 26, there is still no clarity on whether it would be a woman or a man.

If the BJD head and chief minister Naveen Patnaik decides in favour of Pramila Mallick, she would be the first woman Speaker of the State Assembly. The other name that is making the rounds is that of  the veteran leader Mangala Kisan, who is widely popular among MLAs cutting across party line.

Former Deputy Speaker Sanand Marandi may be given another tenure in the same post, sources said.

The first session of the new House is likely to begin from June 9, sources added.