Home BIG STORY Naveen files papers for BJD president, all set to get seventh term

Naveen files papers for BJD president, all set to get seventh term


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Feb 26:

Ruling Biju Janata Dal’s president and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today filed the nomination papers for the party top post’s election today here.

pratap keshari deb

Senior BJD leader Vikram Keshari Arukh filed two sets of nomination papers on behalf of Naveen Patnaik before the returning officer Pratap Keshari Deb at the party headquarters here.

While Arukh filed the papers with ten proposers, Patnaik is all set to be elected for the seventh consecutive time unopposed, results of which will be announced on Sunday (February 28).

“I have received only one nomination paper filed by Naveen Patnaik as of now. The results will be declared on February 28,” returning officer Pratap Keshari Deb said.

On February 28, the party would nominate the new office bearers that include nine vice-presidents, eight general secretaries, eight secretaries and one treasurer. Block and district level elections have already been completed.

The state executive consists of 81 members, while the state council comprises of 354 members.

Earlier on February 10, the party returning officer had announced the names of its organisational district president for 29 out of 32 district presidents.

Patnaik is the founder president of the BJD, which came into being after the death of Biju Patnaik in 1997. Party’s organisational elections are held every three years.