Home ODISHA LATEST Monsoon advances to 10 districts of Odisha

Monsoon advances to 10 districts of Odisha


Bhubaneswar: The south-west monsoon, which arrived in Odisha yesterday, advanced to 10 districts of the state today, the India Meteorological Department (IMD) said.

“South-west monsoon has further advanced into some more parts of Odisha today. It has covered the districts of Nabarangpur, Malkangiri, Koraput, Gajapati, and most pats of Rayagada and some parts of Kalahandi, Kandhamal, Ganjam, Khordha and Puri,” a bulletin of the IMD said.

“Conditions are becoming favourable for further advance of south-west monsoon into some parts of Odisha during next 48 hours,” the bulletin added.

Notably, the monsoon had touched Odisha yesterday, two days ahead of the scheduled date, and covered some parts of Malkangiri district. Earlier, the IMD had predicted that monsoon was likely to reach Odisha on June 10 or 11.