Home ODISHA LATEST Modi congratulates Odisha, Sikkim CMs

Modi congratulates Odisha, Sikkim CMs


New Delhi, May 21 :

Prime Minister-elect Narendra Modi Wednesday congratulated Chief Ministers Pawan Chamling of Sikkim and Naveen Patnaik of Odisha for winning the assembly elections.

“My congratulations to Naveen Patnaik on being sworn in as Odisha (chief minister). My best wishes and support for Odisha’s development journey,” Modi tweeted.

BJD president Patnaik was sworn-in as chief minister for the fourth term Wednesday.

Hailing Chamling’s fifth consecutive win in assembly elections, Modi tweeted: “Congratulations and best wishes to Pawan Chamling on being sworn in as Sikkim CM. We will work together for Sikkim’s progress.”

Chamling is set to become the longest serving chief minister in India, breaking former West Bengal chief minister Jyoti Basu’s record of 23 years.