Home INDIA & BEYOND Mizoram votes for LS, assembly by-poll

Mizoram votes for LS, assembly by-poll


Aizawl, April 11:

Balloting began Friday for the lone parliamentary constituency and a by-poll for an assembly seat in Mizoram, officials said.

With a population of 1,091,014, Mizoram’s 702,189 electorate, including 355,954 women, would decide the fate of three candidates in the lone Lok Sabha constituency.

In the Lok Sabha constituency, it will be a triangular fight between incumbent member C.L. Ruala of the Congress, Robert Romawia Royte of the United Democratic Front (UDF) and M. Lalmanzuala of the Aam Aadmi Party.

Polling was scheduled for April 9 but was postponed due to a three-day shutdown and boycott call by NGOs and students’ groups.

The by-election for the Hrangturzo assembly seat was also held Friday. It was necessitated after Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla, who won from two constituencies in the assembly polls held Nov 25, vacated the seat.

Vanlalawmpuii Chawngthu of the Congress is pitted against UDF leader H. Lalduhawma, who unsuccessfully contested the last election from the same seat.