Home STATE CITY Media XI Wins Tata Steel Friendship Cricket Tournament 2014  

Media XI Wins Tata Steel Friendship Cricket Tournament 2014  


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Nov 30:

Media-XI retained the title of Tata Steel Friendship Cricket Tournament, for the third year in a row, defeating Bureaucrats XI in a thrilling final match at the East Coast Railway Stadium, Bhubaneswar on Sunday.

tata steel cricket

Chasing a target of 82 runs in 12 overs, Media XI, in this 8th edition of the tournament, won the match in 10.2 overs with the loss of 5 wickets.

Subhransu Padhi’s brilliant knock of 31 runs coupled with a good partnership of Prabin Pradhan and Jagdiswar Das towards the end of the match proved to be the game changer for Media XI.

Organised by Tata Steel, the day-long tournament involving four teams, proved to be a welcome break for legislators, bureaucrats, the media and Tata Steel employees to take some time off their busy schedule and have fun through cricket.

Earlier in the semi-finals, Leaders XI (55 for 5 wickets in 10 overs) winning toss decided to bat first after winning the toss with Ranjib Biswal, chairman, IPL and MP and Sidhant Mahapatra , MP as the openers but could not stand up to Bureaucrats-XI, which won in 8.1 overs with a loss of 2 wickets, while Tata Steel XI ( 56 in 10 overs) lost to Media XI  which successfully chased 56 runs in 7.1 overs to qualify for the final.

Gokul Chandra Pati, Chief secretary, Odisha ingaurated the tournament in the presence of Arun Sahu, Minister, Panchayatiraj and Law and  Ramesh Chandra Majhi, Minister, Commerce and Transport, Anand Sen, President, TQM & Steel Buiness, Tata Steel and Rajiv Kumar, VP, Operation, Kalinganagara project, Tata Steel who also played for their respective teams.

Niranjan Pujari, the Speaker of Odisha Assembly, K V Singdeo and many MLAs, bureaucrats, media persons were present to witness the match.

Media XI’s Mr Subhransu Padhi was adjudged as the best batsman as well as best wicket keeper. Mr Faizal Ali of media XI  was awarded the man of the series and the best bowler while Rashmi Ranjan Nayak of Tata Steel team claimed the best fielder prize. Ramaswami P of Bureaucrat team  was adjudged as the man of the match in the final match.