Home POLITICS Logjam continues in Odisha Assembly; all-party meet inconclusive

Logjam continues in Odisha Assembly; all-party meet inconclusive


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, May 6:

An all-party meeting held today to end the deadlock in Odisha Assembly failed to bear any fruit. After two long sessions of discussion and brainstorming in the day, the meeting remained inconclusive and is likely to continue tomorrow.

Odisha Assembly-1

“Today we had an all-party meeting to sort out the differences and ensure that the House functions smoothly. We have not been able to draw to a conclusion today; however, the talks were satisfactory. I hope, we would be able to sort it out tomorrow,” said Speaker Niranjan Pujari speaking to reporters late this evening.

Earlier in the day, Odisha Assembly witnessed uproarious scenes for the fourth consecutive day today as both ruling and opposition members resorted to sloganeering as soon as the House commenced the day’s business.

While the opposition members came to the well of the House and shouted anti-government slogans as soon as the question hour started, the ruling party MLAs were also heard shouting slogans demanding resignation of Leader of Opposition (LOP) Narasingha Mishra.

BJP members were seen in black aprons once again even after Speaker Niranjan Pujari’s appeal against doing so.

With no solution at sight, the Speaker adjourned the House and called for an all party meeting at 11:40 AM to end the logjam.

Even though LOP Mishra abstained the all-party meeting during the first half, he eventually joined it in the second half following persuasion by Congress Chief Whip Tara Prasad Bahinipati, BJP Leader of Party Basant Panda and Odisha Food Supplies and Consumer Welfare (FS&CW) Minister Sanjay Das Burma.