Home FEATURED Less than 5 schools have NOC in these Odisha districts

Less than 5 schools have NOC in these Odisha districts


Bhubaneswar: Even as many public schools are functional across Odisha alluring parents to admit their children for enrollment, there are some districts where less than five schools have been granted NOC.

In the wake of growing number of unauthorised English medium schools, the Directorate of Secondary Education had recently released a list of approved public schools in 27 districts.

Out of hundreds of schools being operated across the State, less than five public schools have obtained NOC from the competent authorities in nine districts.

The districts included Dhenkanal, Jagatsinghpur, Kandhamal, Malkangiri, Nabarangpur, Nayagarh, Nuapada, Kendrapara and Sonepur.

While only public school is being operated with obtaining NOC from the competent authorities in Dhenkanal, Jagatsinghpur district has three authorised English medium schools.

Similarly, the number of authorised public schools is four in Kandhamal, two in Malkangiri, three in Nabarangpur, two in Nayagarh, four in Nuapada, and Kendrapara and Subarnapur districts have only one approved public school each.

Here is the list of English medium schools that have been granted NOC in those districts.
  1. Mant fort school, Dhenkanal
  1. Bethany Convent School, Paradeep port
  2. St. Xavier High School
  3. Sudhananda Vidyalaya, Gandhi Chhaka
  1. Public School, Narayani Road, Phulbani
  2. Carmel E.M School, Phulbani
  3. St. Catherines Eng.Med.School, Raikia, Kandhamal
  1. IMST Balimela, Malkangiri
  2. Deepti Convent School, Malkangiri
  1. Unique Public School, Nabarangour
  2. Bapuji Public School, Nabarangpur
  3. Saheed Laxman Nayak Public School, Umerkote, Nabarangpur
  1. Maharshi Vidyamandir,Nayagarh
  2. Holy Family Eng.Med.School, Nayagarh
  1. Western Orissa Residential Public School, Vidya Nagar, Nuapada
  2. Khariar Public School, Nuapada
  3. Navajyoti Vidyalaya, Khariar Road, Nuapada
  4. Gyanajyoti Kachanber Rasiklal Vidyalaya, Nuapada
  1. St. Joseph Eng.Medium School, Kendrapara
  1. St.Annex Convent School, Sonepur

Notably, over two dozens public schools are found operational unauthorisedly in Bhubaneswar raising concern over the future of students enrolled in those educational institutions.

However, no action has been taken yet to find out the schools running without obtaining NOC from the competent authorities like CBSE and ICSE in the State capital.

Here’s the list of authorized schools running in Bhubaneswar and Khordha: