Home INDIA & BEYOND Left parties announce protest campaign against Modi govt in December

Left parties announce protest campaign against Modi govt in December


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
New Delhi, Nov 1:

Six Indian Left parties have decided to launch a week-long all-India protest campaign between December 8 and 14 against certain disturbing trends since the Modi government came to power.

(file pic)
(file pic)

Six Left parties – Communist Party of India (Marxist), Communist Party of India, Revolutionary Socialist Party, All India Forward Bloc, Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist)-Liberation and Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist) issued a joint statement to this effect after a meeting here on Saturday.

“With the advent of the Modi government in power there is a concerted rightwing offensive fueled by the corporate-Hindutva forces. There is a growing onslaught on the people through the imposition of neo-liberal policies which is going to adversely impact the livelihood of the people. There is no respite for the people from price rise, unemployment and corruption,” said the statement.

“The Hindutva forces are resorting to aggressive communal activities. The Modi government’s patronage of the RSS and its outfits is aimed at communalising the educational, social and cultural institutions. There is rise in communal tensions in different parts of the country,” the statement said.

The Left parties decided to conduct a week long protest campaign between December 8 and 14 on the following issues-(i) against steps to curtail and dilute the MNREGA (ii) curb price rise; control exorbitant price of medicines and drugs (iii) no increased FDI in insurance,(iv) take firm action to unearth black money (v) stop infiltration of the RSS and Hindutva ideology in education, public broadcasting media and other institutions of the State, (vi) stop the “love jihad” hate campaign and other forms of communal propaganda, (vii) stop attacks on minorities and their rights, (viii) fight violence against women and all forms of gender oppression (ix) fight against atrocities on dalits and caste oppression.

A.B. Bardhan and D Raja (CPI), Prakash Karat and S Ramachandran Pillai (CPI(M), Debabrata Biswas (AIFB), Kshiti Goswami and Manoj Bhattacharya (RSP), Swapan Mukherjee and Kavita Krishnan (CPI(ML)-Liberation), Manik Mukherjee and Ranjit Dhar (SUCI(C)).