Home STATE Laadli Media Awards for 5 journalists from Odisha

Laadli Media Awards for 5 journalists from Odisha


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
New Delhi, Mar 19:

Five journalists from Odisha received the prestigious Laadli Media Awards-2016 from the East Zone for reporting on gender issues at a glittering ceremony in India Islamic Centre at New Delhi on Thursday night.

laadli award

Among the awardees, writers Nibedita Patnaik, Sharmila Sahoo, writer-activist Rukmani Panda and senior Sambad reporter Bhairab Chandra Brahma, are from the vernacular media.

Chief Sub-Editor-cum-Principal Correspondent of The New Indian Express (TNIE), Bhubaneswar, Diana Sahu won the award in the English category.

Altogether 51 journalists from East and North zones were awarded at the seventh edition of the Laadli Media Awards for Gender Sensitivity. On the occasion, eminent writer Nirupama Bargohain was felicitated with the Laadli Lifetime Achievement Award for her contribution to Assamese literature.

The award, instituted by Population First, a Mumbai-based leading not-for-profit organisation working on gender issues, highlights, acknowledges and celebrates commendable efforts by various media at providing gender-just perspectives, portrayals and analysis.

Presiding over the ceremony, Director of Population First, AL Sharada said, “a look at the media coverage reveals and puts women in a poor light like featuring them only on Page 3 etc. This outlook needs to be changed. The need of the hour is to make women count in media by writing about them, by reporting from a gender perspective.”

‘Laadli’ is a campaign launched by Population First in 2005 to address mindset that discriminates against women, promote inequalities and justify gender-based violence.