Home STATE CITY KIIT Premier League to be held in Odisha capital from Feb 18

KIIT Premier League to be held in Odisha capital from Feb 18


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Feb 18:

The 9th edition of all-India KIIT Premier League (KPL) T-20 cricket tournament will be held in the campus -13 cricket stadium of Odisha’s KIIT University between February 18 and 28.


As per a press release issued by the university, all the matches will be day and night and will be played as per T-20 format on turf wicket as per league basis. The tournament will be inaugurated on February 18 at 5 PM.

This edition of KPL has the distinction of being the highest prize money tournament in the history of university sports in India. While the champion team will bag the trophy and a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh, runner’s up will get Rs. 1.5 lakh. Besides, there are plenty of individual cash prizes to be awarded on the final day.

Teams from 12 universities from all parts of India will participate in the tournament. An exhibition match between Odia Cine Star-XI and Mayor-XI will be main attraction of the inaugural session, said the press release.

Teams are divided into four groups.

Group- A: University of Mumbai; Al-Falah University, Faridabad; Ravenshaw University, Cuttack.

Group-B: Jamia Millia Islamia University; Utkal University, Bhubaneswar; SRM University, Chennai.

Group-C: KIIT University; Daffodil University, Bangladesh; DAV Sports University

Group-D: Goutam Buddha University, Noida; Delhi University; Andhra University, Hyderabad.