Home INDIA & BEYOND Khattar sworn-in as Haryana CM

Khattar sworn-in as Haryana CM


Panchkula (Haryana), Oct 26:

BJP leader Manohar Lal Khattar was on Sunday sworn-in as the chief minister of Haryana.

Manoharlal Khattar
Manoharlal Khattar

Haryana Governor Kaptan Singh Solanki administered the oath of office and secrecy to Khattar at a public ceremony at the Mela Ground in Sector 5 of Panchkula town, adjoining Chandigarh.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) national president Amit Shah, chief ministers of BJP-ruled states and Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh (RSS) leaders were present on the occasion.

Khattar, 60, is the first BJP chief minister of Haryana.

The BJP created political history last Sunday by winning 47 seats in the Haryana assembly polls.

Senior BJP Leaders Present

Senior BJP leaders like Lal Krishna Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi, besides Prime Minister Narendra Modi, attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Modi seemed to have departed from protocol to be able to attend the swearing-in of Khattar, who had worked with him when he was in charge of the BJP’s affairs in Punjab and Haryana in the ’90s.

Union ministers Sushma Swaraj, Rajnath Singh as well as chief ministers of the BJP-ruled states were also present at the ceremony.