Home INDIA & BEYOND Jayalalithaa drops three ministers, inducts three

Jayalalithaa drops three ministers, inducts three


Chennai, May 19 :

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa Monday rejigged her cabinet, dropping three ministers and inducting three new ministers.

JayalalithaaAccording to a statement from Raj Bhavan, Governor K. Rosaiah has accepted Jayalalithaa’s recommendation to drop Agriculture Minister S.Damodaran, Labour Minister K.Pachamal and Revenue Minister B.V.Ramanaa.

The governor also accepted Jayalalithaa’s recommendation to induct S.S. Krishnamoorthy, S.P. Velumani and S. Gokula Indira as three new ministers in the cabinet.

The statement said Krishnamoorthy will be the new minister for agriculture, Velumani will be the minister for municipal administration and rural development, and Indira the minister for handlooms and textiles.

Rosaiah also allocated new portfolios among cabinet ministers on Jayalalithaa’s recommendation.

Accordingly, Municipal Administration Minister K.P.Munusamy will now be the labour minister, and Sports and Youth Welfare Minister R.B.Udhayakumar will be the new revenue minister.

Handloom and Textiles Minister S.Sundararaj will now be the minister for sports and youth welfare.