Home SPORTS Jadeja, Ashwin give Chennai fifth straight win

Jadeja, Ashwin give Chennai fifth straight win


Ranchi, May 3 :

Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin spun Chennai Super Kings to a 34-run victory over Kolkata Knight Riders in a rain curtailed Indian Premier League (IPL) match at the JSCA International Stadium Complex here Friday.

Brendon McCulluma’s 56 off 40 balls helped the Super Kings reach 148 for three after rain had curtailed the match to 17-over a side.

Ravindra Jadeja
Ravindra Jadeja

Jadeja and Ashwin took five wickets between them giving away just 33 runs in eight overs as the Knight Riders managed just 114 for nine in 17 overs.

Mohit Sharma did the clean up job in the end taking the final three wickets to fall as Chennai strolled to their fifth consecutive win this season.

The Knight Riders were in trouble from the outset with captain Gautam Gambhir (6) once again falling early.

A flurry of wickets followed as Jacques Kallis (4), Manish Pandey (1) and Shakib Al Hasan (0) all being dismissed in the space of an over.

At 38 for four Kolkata were all but out of the contest and things did not get much better as they were reduced to 91 for seven.

The only good thing to come out of the match for Kolkata was that Robin Uthappa (47) and Yusuf Pathan (41) were both amongst the runs.

Barring the two, none of the Knight Riders batsmen could even reach double figures.

Earlier, electing to bat Chennai once again got off to a good start courtesy Dwayne Smith(16) and McCullum. However, the West Indian all-rounder failed to take advantage and was dismissed by Shakib.

McCullum and Suresh Raina(31) then combined well, stringing together a 70-run partnership for the second wicket.

Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni (22 not out) and Jadeja (17 not out) added the finishing touches with an unbeaten 29-run partnership off just 15 balls.

Shakib Al Hasan was the pick of the Kolkata bowlers with figures of two for 25 in his four overs.

Brief Scores:

Chennai Super Kings: 148 for three in 17 overs (Brendon McCullum 56, Suresh Raina 31; Shakib Al Hasan 2-25, Andre Russell 1-25).

Kolkata Knight Riders: 114 for nine in 17 overs (Robin Uthappa 47, Yusuf Pathan 41; Ravindra Jadeja 4-12, Mohit Sharma 3-22).