Home ODISHA LATEST IPL : CSK win toss, choose to field

IPL : CSK win toss, choose to field


Odisha Sun Times Sports Bureau
Cuttack, May 7:

The much-awaited duel between Chennai Super Kings and Kings XI Punjab in the ongoing 7th Indian Premiere League (IPL) tournament began at the jam-packed Barabati Stadium here tonight.KXIP CSK

Chennai Super Kings captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to field.

Asked about his decision to field, Dhoni said “I don’t think the pitch will change too much in the second innings. I have played a fair amount of under-16 and under-19 cricket here, but now there a bit more grass on it”.

There was a mad rush of spectators at the stadium by 1 pm. However, the security personnel opened the 14 gates of the stadium only at 4 PM.

The stadium is packed with nearly 43,000 spectators, the reports said.

The teams:

Chennai Super Kings : DR Smith, BB McCullum, SK Raina, F du Plessis, MS Dhoni, RA Jadeja, M Manhas, R Ashwin, BW Hilfenhaus, IC Pandey, MM Sharma.

Kings XI Punjab: Mandeep Singh, V Sehwag, WP Saha, GJ Maxwell, GJ Bailey, DA Miller, MG Johnson, R Dhawan, AR Patel, M Kartik, Sandeep Sharma.