Home INDIA & BEYOND World T20: India set up a final date with Sri Lanka

World T20: India set up a final date with Sri Lanka


Mirpur (Bangladesh), Apr 4:

Virat Kohli starred with a brilliant unbeaten 72 as India pulled off a comprehensive six-wicket win over South Africa to make their second ICC World Twenty20 finals at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium here Friday.


India, winners in 2007, will be facing neighbours Sri Lanka in Sunday’s title-clash which will be a repeat of the 2011 50-overs World Cup final. If they win, India will be the only team to hold the World Cup, Champions Tophy and the World T20 title at the same time.

Opting to bat first, South Africa did well to post a challenging total of 172 for four in 20 overs with skipper Faf du Plesis scoring a quick-fire 41-ball 58 while Jean Paul Duminy made an unbeaten 45 off 40 balls.

India made a mockery of what looked like a stiff target and cruised to 176 for four with five balls to spare as Kohli struck a blistering 44-ball unbeaten 72. Ajinkya Rahane (32), Rohit Sharma (24), Suresh Raina (21) and Yuvraj Singh (18) also made valuable contributions.

But it was Kohli’s knock that made the difference and the young batsman single-handedly took away the match from South Africa with his aggressive knock that was studded with five fours and two sixes.

South Africa missed an extra spinner badly as leg-spinner Imran Tahir was the most economical of the bowlers giving away 30 runs from four overs and picked up the wicket of Yuvraj. The pacers including world’s best fast bowler Dale Steyn proved too costly for the Proteas.

Earlier in the day, opting to bat first, South Africa riding on good innings from Du Plessis and Duminy got what looked like a winning score.

Though Indian bowlers struck twice inside the first six overs to reduce South Africa to 44 for two, Du Plessis and Duminy joined forces and plundered the Indian attack with their 71-run stand for the third wicket.

India pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar (1/33) struck in the first over to get rid of opening batsman Quinton de Kock (6) caught behind by Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Umpire Ian Gould had no doubts in his mind before raising his finger but De Kock looked surprised. TV replays, however, confirmed a sound as the ball passed by the bat.

Ashwin struck next in the sixth over to get rid of Hashim Amla (22), who had his off-stumps shattered with a carrom ball. The off-spinner was the pick of the Indian bowlers giving away 22 runs from four overs and also picked up Du Plessis and the dangerous AB de Villiers (10).


South Africa:

Quinton de Kock c Dhoni b Kumar 6
Hashim Amla b Ashwin 22
Faf du Plessis b Ashwin 58
JP Duminy not out 45
AB de Villiers c RG Sharma b Ashwin 10
David Miller not out 23
Extras (b 1, lb 3, w 3, nb 1) 8
Total (for four wickets in 20 overs) 172

Fall of wickets: 1-9 (de Kock, 0.4 overs), 2-44 (Amla, 5.1), 3-115 (du Plessis, 13.5), 4-129 (de Villiers, 15.3)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar 4-0-33-1
Mohit Sharma 3-0-34-0
Ravichandran Ashwin 4-0-22-3
Ravindra Jadeja 2-0-8-0
Suresh Raina 4-0-35-0
Amit Mishra 3-0-36-0


Rohit Sharma c du Plessis b Hendricks 24
Ajinkya Rahane c de Villiers b Parnell 32
Virat Kohli not out 72
Yuvraj Singh c de Villiers b Imran Tahir 18
Suresh Raina c du Plessis b Hendricks 21
Mahendra Singh Dhoni not out 0
Extras (w 9) 9
Total (for four wickets in 19.1 overs) 176
Fall of wickets: 1-39 (Rohit, 3.5 overs), 2-77 (Rahane, 9.3), 3-133 (Yuvraj, 15.6), 4-167 (Raina, 18.3)

JP Duminy 3-0-29-0
Albie Morkel 2-0-17-0
Dale Steyn 3.1-0-36-0
Beuran Hendricks 4-0-31-2
Wayne Parnell 3-0-33-1
Imran Tahir 4-0-30-1

Match Details:
Toss: South Africa, chose to bat
Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka) and Ian Gould (England)
TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (Australia)
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (Sri Lanka)
Reserve umpire: Richard Kettleborough (England)