House Committee formed for probe into Abhijit Iyer’s anti-Odisha remarks

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Assembly Speaker Niranjan Pujari today approved a proposal to form the House Committee to probe into anti-Odisha statements by journalist Abhijit Iyer Mitra.

The six-member House Committee headed by Leader of Opposition (LoP) Narasingha Mishra will submit its probe report in the House on first day of next assembly session.

BJD legislators Debi Prasad Mishra, Pramila Mallick, Arun Sahoo and Sanjay Dasburma and BJP Legislature Party leader K V Singhdeo were appointed as the members of the House Committee.

The move came after the leaders cutting across the party line demanded stringent action against Abhijit Iyer for his derogatory remarks against Odisha, Odia culture and Lord Jagannath.

After the House begins in the morning, the BJD member Arun Sahoo stongly condemned anti-Odisha statements by Abhijit. Congress MLA Tara Prasad Bahinipati also raised his voice against the journalist.

The Speaker called for an all party meeting to discuss the issue after adjourning the House for 20 minutes today.

Later, the monsoon session of Assembly was adjourned sine die over Abhijit Iyer row.

Also Read

Comments are closed.