Home SPORTS Hockey India announces junior men’s team

Hockey India announces junior men’s team


New Delhi, Sep 22 :

Hockey India (HI) Monday announced the Indian junior men’s team for the fourth Sultan of Johor Cup to take place in Johor Bahru, Malaysia, Oct 12-19.

The 18-member squad was selected by HI selectors B.P. Govinda, Harbinder Singh and R.P. Singh along with coaches Harendra Singh and B.J. Kariappa, and physiotherapist Vinod Kumar on the basis of the performance of 33 junior core probables during the selection trials held here Sep 19-20.hockey

Midfielder Harjeet Singh will lead the team while forward Imran Khan will be his deputy.

“The boys made us proud last year by winning the third edition of the Sultan of Johor Cup and looking at their current form during the training sessions, I am confident that the 18-member team picked by the selectors is ready to repeat history,” said HI secretary general Narinder Batra.

The tournament will see a total of six teams — Australia, Great Britain, India, Pakistan, New Zealand and Malaysia.

Defending champions India will face New Zealand in the opener Oct 12 followed by Great Britain Oct 13, Pakistan Oct 15, Malaysia Oct 16 and Australia Oct 18.

The preparatory camp for the event is currently underway at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium here since Sep 13 and will continue till the departure of the team Oct 9.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Abhinav Kumar Pandey, Subodh Tirkey

Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Dipsan Tirkey, Anand Lakra, Varun Kumar, Gurinder Singh

Midfielders: Santa Singh, Sumit, Harjeet Singh (Captain), S.H. Nilkantha Sharma, Simranjeet Singh

Forwards: Imran Khan (vice-captain), Parvinder Singh, Pawan Kumar, Aarman Qureshi, Sumit Kumar.