Home ODISHA LATEST Hockey Champions Trophy: Two from Odisha in 18-Member Indian Team

Hockey Champions Trophy: Two from Odisha in 18-Member Indian Team


New Delhi: Defenders Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas from Odisha have been selected in the 18-member Indian Men’s Team who will take part in the final edition of the prestigious Rabobank Men’s Hockey Champions Trophy Breda 2018, Netherlands starting June 23.

India’s defence will see the experienced Birendra Lakra make a comeback into the squad. He will be joined by drag-flickers Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar and Amit Rohidas along with Surender Kumar and debut player Jarmanpreet Singh who earned a place in the Core Group after a stupendous domestic season.

The team will be led by ace goalkeeper PR Sreejesh under whose captaincy the Indian team created history in the previous edition by clinching the Silver Medal after a tense final encounter with World No.1 Australia. It was India’s first podium finish at the Champions Trophy in 34 years. Sreejesh will be joined by youngster Krishan Pathak as goalkeeper.

India’s midfield will be formed by stalwart Sardar Singh, Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam and the talented Vivek Sagar Prasad. The forward line will feature SV Sunil, Ramandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Dilpreet Singh and Sumit Kumar (Jr).

India’s aim will be to finish on the podium to set the momentum right ahead of major International events such as the Asian Games in August and the much-awaited Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018 starting in November.

India will begin their campaign at the Rabobank Men’s Hockey Champions Trophy Breda 2018 against rivals Pakistan on June 23.



Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran (C)

Krishan Bahadur Pathak


Harmanpreet Singh

Varun Kumar

Surender Kumar

Jarmanpreet Singh

Birendra Lakra

Amit Rohidas


Manpreet Singh

Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (VC)

Sardar Singh

Vivek Sagar Prasad


Sunil Sowmarpet Vitalacharya

Ramandeep Singh

Mandeep Singh

Sumit Kumar (Jr.)

Akashdeep Singh

Dilpreet Singh