Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Rayagada, Jan 22:

At least nine bogies of a Bhubaneswar-bound express train derailed around 30 km from Rayagada station late on Saturday night.


According to reports, the bogies of 18448 Jagdalpur-Bhubaneswar Hirakhand Express derailed near Kuneru station in Andhra Pradesh in which at least five passengers were feared dead. The casualty is likely to rise.

Sources said that over 100 passengers were trapped beneath the coaches. The S7 and S8 coaches were badly affected.

The derailment took place at around 11.20 pm. Two AC, four sleeper, two unreserved coaches, luggage van and the engine jumped the tracks.

“The accident took place in Vizianagaram district of Andhra Pradesh. Nine bogies of the ill-fated train got affected. We don’t have confirmed number of casualties. However, casualties are feared. The cause of the accident is not yet known. Further investigation would reveal the cause of the mishap,” a senior railway official said

ECoR sources said four accident relief vans and officials were rushed from various locations to the spot for rescue operations. Medical relief vans were rushed from Visakhapatnam and Rayagada to provide first-aid to the injured.

The grievously injured were rushed to Rayagada District Headquarters Hospital with the help of district administration officials, police and local residents.

Meanwhile, the railways have issued helpline numbers:

Rayagada: 6856223400, 06856223500, 9439741181, 9439741071, 7681878777, 7326812986.

Khurda Road: 06742 490670

Bhubaneswar station: 06742543360

Berhampur station: 06802229632

Waltair Division: 08574485755, 08577785711

Visakhapatnam: 83003, 83005, 83006, BSNL LAND LINE NO. 0891-2746344, 0891-2746330

Vizianagaram: 83331, 83332, 83333, 83334 BSNL LAND LINE: 08922-221202, 08922-221206

Besides, relatives of the passengers can dial 1072 to get information on relief and rescue operations.

The railway authorities have temporarily suspended movement of train along the route in view of the mishap. In addition to this, routes of several trains have been diverted.

12375 Chennai -Asansol Exp diverted via Khurda Road, Angul, Jharsuguda

12843 Puri-Ahmedabad Exp to be diverted via Visakhapatnam, Vijayawada, Nagpur, Ahmedabad

13351 Dhanbad -Alleppey Exp , 18637 Hatia -Yesvantpur Exp to be dierted via Titilagarh, Raipur, Nagpur

18310 Nanded -Sambalpur Exp diverted via Khurda Road -Angul

12807 VSKP-NZM Samata Exp &22847VSKP -LTT Exp scheduled to leave Visakhapatnam on 22.01.2017 will be diverted via Duvvada -Vijayawada & Nagpur.