Home BIG STORY Govt to roll out ‘Aahar’ scheme in 50 Odisha towns

Govt to roll out ‘Aahar’ scheme in 50 Odisha towns


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Dec 29:

Odisha Government has taken a call to roll out its popular five rupee meal scheme across 58 centers in 50 towns of the state by February 2016.

Naveen Secretariat Review meeting

The decision on this context was announced today in a Chief Ministerial review meeting with district collectors and other senior officials at the state Secretariat.

Currently the discounted meal scheme benefits more than 22,000 people across 21 centers in five cities such as Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Sambalpur, Berhampur and Rourkela since April 1.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik also reviewed the progress in paddy procurement in the meeting and asked the district collectors to take precaution against distress sale of paddy and ensure that payments are made to the farmers on time.

Reviewing the progress of NFSA (National Food Security Act) roll out, he asked the collectors to lodge criminal complaints against erring officials on lines of Sundargarh and Rourkela administration and asked them to wrap up the distribution of NFSA ration card by December 31.

On a day when Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC) Mayor Anita Behera had to resign for her name being included in the NFSA beneficiary list, Patnaik issued strict instruction to the officials to take prompt action to protect the interests of the poor.