Home ODISHA LATEST Govt mulling three more commissionerates in Odisha

Govt mulling three more commissionerates in Odisha


Reported by Santosh Jagdev

Bhubaneswar, Feb 28:

After introducing the Commissionerate of Police system in the twin cities of Cuttack and Bhubaneswar in 2008 as per the Odisha Urban Police (OUP) Act, 2003, the Odisha Government is mulling a proposal to create three more police commissionerates in the State.

Three cities under active consideration for creation of Commissionerates are Berhampur, Sambalpur and Rourkela.

Sources in the office of the Director General of Police (DGP) said that a proposal for creation of three commissionerates had been sent to the Home department for its consideration to tackle the increasing law and order challenges in these three cities.

There is a hitch though. The Uurban Police Act, 2003 provides for creation of commissionerates only for corporations, a status that only one of the three cities has currently. While Berhampur has already become a commissionerate, while it is under the consideration of the state government for the other two: Sambalpur and Rourkela.

“The government may create a Police Commissionerate for any area comprising the territorial area of any one or more corporations constituted under the Orissa Municipal Corporation Ordinance, 2003 and may include any other contiguous area as may be specified in the notification,” says Clause 4 of the Act.

Introduction of commissionerate police system in these three would help check crimes in these three cities, considered centres of trade in illegal arms and illicit liquor, robbery, burglary, theft, dacoity, murder and gang-wars.