Home ODISHA LATEST Four from Odisha receive Padma awards

Four from Odisha receive Padma awards


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
New Delhi, Mar 31:

Four eminent personalities from Odisha were conferred with the Padma Shree Award by the President of India here today.

padmashree to sudarshan

The four personalities are renowned sand artist Sudarsan Pattnaik, Odissi danseuse Gita Mahalik, and eminent doctor Subrat Acharya (AIIMS) and agro scientist Dr Ajay Parida.

President Pranab Mukherjee Presented the prestigious civilian awards, the Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri at a ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan here.

India’s second highest civilian award Padma Vibhushan was presented to scientist Raghunath Anant Mashelkar, while actor Kamal Haasan and former badminton player Pullela Gopichand were among the 12 who received the Padma Bhushan awards.

A total of 53 Padma Shri awards were presented by the president and the awardees included among others actor Vidya Balan and fashion designer Wendell Rodricks.

Among the dignitaries present on the occasion were Vice President Hamid Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Union Minister for Home Affairs Sushilkumar Shinde.