Home STATE Four Odisha MPs have not adopted village under SAGY

Four Odisha MPs have not adopted village under SAGY


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
New Delhi/Bhubaneswar, Jun 6:

Four Odisha MPs have not adopted any village under the Sansad Adarsh Gram Yojana (SAGY) launched by the Centre on October 11 last year.

Tathagata Satpathy
Tathagata Satpathy

Briefing newsmen after presiding over the first review meeting of the SAGY in New Delhi on Friday, Union Rural Development Minister Chaudhary Birender Singh said the four Odisha MPs who have not adopted any village are Mayurbhanj MP Rama Chandra Hansda, Dhenkanal MP Tathagat Satpathy and two Rajya Sabha members Bhupinder Singh and Dilip Tirkey.

He, however, said not only the Odisha MPs, 55 MPs from West Bengal have also not adopted any village under the SAGY.

Stating that 679 MPs have adopted villages in their respective constituencies, Singh said the Centre has asked the remaining 110 MPs to adopt village at the earliest.

He said the meeting has finalised 204 Gram Vikash Yojana schemes under SAGY.

“The Centre has asked the states to finalise the Gram Vikash Yojana schemes for the remaining villages very soon. It has been decided that the Union Rural Development minister will review the implementation of these programmes in each state for which a meeting of the district collectors would be convened to expedite these programmes,” Singh added.

Among others, Union ministers Jual Oram and Piyush Goel and all Lok Sabha MPs and Rajya Sabha members were present at the meeting.