Home ODISHA LATEST Four Maoists surrender in Odisha

Four Maoists surrender in Odisha


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Rourkela, Oct 11:

Four Maoists today surrendered before the police in Odisha’s Sundargarh district.

They have been identified as Jakrius Munda and Harun Munda of Sundargarh district, Jagdish Nayak of Chhattisgarh and Raega Gagarai of Singhbhum in Jharkhand.

Maoists surrenderBriefing newsmen here, additional SP, Rourkela Santosh Kumar Mohanty and assistant commandant Jugal Kishore Mohapatra said the four young Maoists were active in Saranda forest area along the Odisha-Jharkhand border.

Jakrius had joined the Maoist outfit in 2000 after being influenced by his uncle while Harun had joined the outfit in 2011 after he was inspired by top Maoist cadre Anmol.

The Odisha and Jharkhand police had announced a cash reward of Rs 1 lakh for these two Maoists, they said.

The two other Maoists—Jagdish and Raega—had joined the Maoist outfit in 2009 and 2010 respectively.

With the surrender of four Maoists, a total of 12 Maoists have surrendered in Sundargarh district in the last one month, the additional SP informed.