Home ODISHA LATEST Ex Twin City commissioner to get Prez medal

Ex Twin City commissioner to get Prez medal


sunil roy

OST Bureau

Bhubaneswar, Aug 14:

He may have been shunted out unceremoniously after failing miserably in controlling law and order in the Twin City. But that has not prevented former Commissioner of Police Sunil Roy from walking away with the coveted President’s police medal for ‘distinguished service’ this year.

Binayananda Jha, ADG (law and order), is the other police officer from the state selected in the ‘distinguished service’ category in the list of awardees announced on the eve of Independence Day today.

Besides, 17 other police personnel will receive the Police medal for gallantry (PMG) from the state. They are Santosh Juang, constable,  Trinath Totapadia, constable, Bhuban Chandra Dev, Lance Naik, Laxmi Narayan Muduli, constable, Sadhan Biswas, constable, R Prakash, sub-divisional police officer, Laxmi Vara Prasad Vasupalli, constable, Gedela Srikant Kumar, constable, Ambika Prasad Patra, constable, Deenabandhu Naik, constable, Santosh Juang, constable, Trinath Totapadia, constable, Manoranjan Paikray, sub inspector, Arun Kumar Behera, sub inspector, Marathi Rabi, constable, Sarathi Bhuiyan, constable and Manoj Kumar Guru, constable, an official release of the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) said.

Apart from this, 11 will receive Police medal for meritorious services (PMMS). Runibala Devi, jailor, Naribandi Niketan in Sambalpur, has been chosen for President’s correctional service medal for distinguished services.