Home ODISHA LATEST Digitization of NFSA beneficiaries to begin in Odisha on Oct 8

Digitization of NFSA beneficiaries to begin in Odisha on Oct 8


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Oct 2:

In the first step towards implementation of the National Food Security Act (NFSA) in the state, the Odisha government begin the digitization of enrollment of beneficiaries for new ration cards from October 8.

pds outlet

Digitization for enlisting of beneficiaries for new ration cards under the NFSA will be initially taken up at 211 centres in Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC) and Bhubaneswar block area from October 8 and will continue till October 22.

The Food Supplies and Consumer Welfare department has sought adequate security arrangements for maintenance of law and order during the enrollment of beneficiaries for new ration cards.

In a letter to the Bhubaneswar-Cuttack Commisssioner of Police,  departmental secretary Madhusudan Padhi said; “It is expected that a large number of people may gather in these centres for digitisation purpose. There is a possibility of breach of peace during the process at these centres. I would, therefore, request you to take necessary steps during the digitisation process from October 8-22”.

The state government has decided to implement NFSA in a phased manner in the state. It would be implemented in BMC and Bhubaneswar block on a pilot basis from February next year.

The state government has already notified the eight exclusion criteria for beneficiaries under NFSA on July 17.

These include the Income tax payees, persons having vehicles including two wheelers, businessmen owning businesses having TIN (tax payer identification number), households with electricity consumption of above 300 units per month, state or central government employee, persons having power tillers, fishing boats or other heavy vehicles and professional tax payees.

People falling under these categories cannot apply to get benefit under the scheme.

The digitization process for new ration cards under the NFSA would be implemented in all urban local bodies (ULBs) and district headquarter towns in the second phase. Rest of the blocks will be covered in the third phase.

The entire process is expected to be over by July next year.