Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Mar 9:

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today said that digital empowerment of citizens is essential for other empowerments.

Patnaik was speaking on the occasion of inaugurating INFOCOM Advantage Odisha-2017, a two-day event organised by Electronics & IT Department, OCAC and the ABP Group with an objective of promoting entrepreneurship, here.

“Governments all over the world are now working steadfastly to bring about a digital-parity. The youths across world including India and Odisha expect the government to deliver services at their door step in a very transparent and affordable manner through technology solutions,” Patnaik said.

“The IT sector is at the top of the state government’s agenda. Odisha is one of the leading states in the country in the field of e-governance. The state government is also focusing on providing end to end dedicated government network from the state headquarters to gram panchayat level by offering high speed broadband internet services in next three years time for seamless transactions of government services,” the CM said.

“The growth rate of IT exports from the State is more than the National growth rate for last many years. Our recently announced Special package of incentives for ESDM sector, which is unique in the Country, shall definitely be a catalyst in this endeavor. There is provision of giving additional incentives under Capital Investment Subsidy over and above the MSIP scheme of Govt of India, VAT reimbursement, Entry Tax exemption, Human Capital Investment Subsidy, Power Incentives, water incentives & Interest Subsidy etc in Special Incentives Package Scheme. Odisha now boasts of an excellent eco-system for the technology industry and is therefore ready to absorb large investments in Technology Sector,” he added.

On the occasion, several firms and entrepreneurs were conferred with Export Awards.

Infosys Limited, Tata Consultancy Services Limited, Tech Mahindra Limited, Exilant Technologies, Mindfire Solutions, Semtech Advanced Systems India Private Limited, Enterprise System Solutions, AABSyS Information Technology Pvt Ltd were awarded as top IT/ITES exporters.

Similarly, Hepta Infotech Services LLP was awarded as top IT/ITES exporter in in tier-III cities, Sankalp Semiconductor Pvt Ltd as leading unit working in ESDM, Riaxe Systems Pvt Ltd as fastest growing STP unit (in SME/MSME category), ProcessMAP Infotech Pvt Ltd as leading IT product exporting unit in green IT projects (in SME/MSME category), Suyog Computech as leading IT product exporting unit (in SME/MSME category), Eagle Technology Resources Pvt Ltd as leading IT product exporting unit (in SME/MSME category), Pinnacle Systems as leading exporter from STPI incubation, Tatwa Technologies as leading BPO company in the state, Infosys for notable contribution to CSR in Odisha, Perfectus I Hub as private STP IT park of the year.

Dibyesh Nandini Chowdhury, Managing partner, NSOLN India was awarded as woman entrepreneur of the year and Sandeep Kumar Swain, Director, Qtonix Software Private Limited as Young Entrepreneur of the year.