Home ODISHA LATEST Dharmendra seeks seven additional POPSKs in Odisha

Dharmendra seeks seven additional POPSKs in Odisha


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, May 22:

Union Petroleum and Natural Gas Minister Dharmendra Pradhan today shot a letter to Union External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj urging her to open Post Office Passport Sewa Kendra (POPSKs) at seven additional places in Odisha.

File Pic.

“I take this opportunity to request you to kindly issue necessary instructions for starting POPSKs/Passport Sewa Kendra (PSK) at following locations in Odisha: Angul, Berhampur, Balasore, Kendrapada, Bolangir, Jajpur and Bhawanipatna,” wrote Pradhan in his letter to the Union External Affairs Minister.

Pradhan said opening of the centre at the above locations will greatly enhance the access to passport services for people residing in these towns and adjoining areas.

“There is a demand for issue of passport from various segments i.e. large number of skilled/semi-skilled workforce, students/research scholars, business communities and tourists. Growing need is felt to open additional POPSKs/PSK to facilitate the expeditious issue of passport,” Pradhan pointed out.

The Union Petroleum and Natural Gas Minister thanked Swaraj for according sanction for opening three POPSKs at Rourkela, Sambalpur and Koraput.

Pradhan told Swaraj that POPSKs at Rourkela and Sambalpur have been inaugurated and the opening of the third centre at Koraput is in the pipeline.