Home ODISHA LATEST Dharmendra Pradhan to contest RS polls from Madhya Pradesh

Dharmendra Pradhan to contest RS polls from Madhya Pradesh


Bhubaneswar: The BJP today renominated Union Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, who hails from Odisha, as the party’s nominee for the March 23 Rajya Sabha polls from Madhya Pradesh (MP).

Pradhan, believed the Saffron Party’s face in the State, was elected to the Upper House of the Parliament from Bihar in 2012. His tenure will end on April 2018.

Earlier in the day, the BJP renominated eight retiring members including seven ministers for the upcoming Rajya Sabha polls.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, who has been representing Gujarat in the Upper House, has been shifted to Uttar Pradesh. Union Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thawar Chand Gehlot will be from MP.

Health Minister J.P. Nadda has been renominated from Himachal Pradesh and Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad has been renominated from Bihar.

Minister of State for Agriculture Parshottam Rupala and Minister of State for Chemical and Fertilizer Mansukh Bhai Mandaviya have been renominated from Gujarat.

As per the numbers in the Gujarat Assembly, only two members from the BJP can be sent to the Rajya Sabha. So, the party opted to nominate Jaitley from Uttar Pradesh.

Besides these seven ministers, the Bharatiya Janata Party has renominated its General Secretary Bhupender Yadav from Rajasthan.

Eight Ministers of the Modi Cabinet are retiring from the Rajya Sabha.