Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bargarh, Nov 1:

Five councillors of Bargarh Municipality today tendered their resignations in protest against the district administration’s decision to change the venue of world famous Bargarh Dhanu Yatra.


Out of the five councillors who have tendered their resignations four are from Odisha’s ruling party-BJD, while one is from Congress.

These councillors are opposed to the shifting of the venue from Hatapada to Nishamani grounds.

They are Ajit Seth of ward no.13, Manoj Pradhan of ward no 2, Sashi Agarwal of ward no.6, Bedamati Pradhan of ward no. 3 and Basudev Bagarti of ward no. 12.

These councillors have cited in their resignations that unnecessary high-handedness of the Collector and district administration would affect the glory of Dhanu Yatra and hurt the feelings of the public at large.

They claimed that they had resigned in protest. They have tendered their resignations to Bargarh Municipality’s Executive Officer and District Collector.

Besides, six members of Dhanu Yatra Organising Committee  have also tendered their resignations from the Committee over the decision.

Notably, Dhanu Yatra was being held at Hatapada for over several years, the district administration took the decision to shift the venue to Nishamani grounds in view of the huge crowd and other reasons.

However, local residents are opposing the decision to shift the venue.

It may be mentioned here that the district administration had recently announced dates for the holding of the Yatra. The Yatra will be held from January 2 to 12, the district administration had announced.