Home ODISHA LATEST Counting of votes for Odisha LS by-poll tomorrow

Counting of votes for Odisha LS by-poll tomorrow


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Oct 18:

The Election Commission of India has made adequate arrangements for the counting of votes for Kandhamal by-election tomorrow, sources in the office of the chief electoral officer (CEO) Odisha said.

The counting of votes would begin at 8 AM.

File pic of counting centre
File pic of counting centre

The five places where the counting would take place are Phulbani (for Phulbani Assembly constituency), Baliguda (for Baliguda and G Udayagiri constituencies), Bouth (for Boudh and Kantamal Assembly constituencies), Bhanjanagar (for Bhanjanagar Assembly constituency) and Nayagarh (for Daspalla Assembly constituency).

For each counting hall, 14 counting tables have been arranged.

As decided, counting of postal votes would be taken up first, after which counting of votes cast on Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) would begin.

Counting of votes would be held in 18 rounds while the announcement of results would be announced after completion of one-round counting.

Arrangements have been made for announcement of results at the CEO office in the state capital.

To ensure law and order during the counting, a three-tier security arrangement has been made.

To prevent the people and vehicles from entering into the counting centres, barricades have been erected at a distance of 100 metres from the centres.

While the district police would be deployed at each barricade, the Odisha State Armed Police (OSAP) and the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) personnel would be deployed at the entrance gate and inside the counting halls respectively.

It may be mentioned that out of a total of 11,41, 735 voters, 7,74,558 voters had exercised their franchise across 1497 booths in the Kandhamal by-election on October 15.