Home ODISHA LATEST 64 counting centres in Odisha

64 counting centres in Odisha


Reported by Chinmaya Dehury
Bhubaneswar, May 1:

The Election Commission has identified 64 locations for counting of votes in Odisha on May 16, the day which will announce the fate of 1518 candidates who were in the fray for the 21 Lok Sabha and 147 Assembly constituencies.

The Commission has made arrangements in schools and colleges for counting of votes while votes of more than two Assembly constituencies will be counted in one centre.

The counting will be held for all the Lok Sabha and Assembly segments in the state.

While 771 candidates contested for Lok Sabha and Assembly constituencies spread over western and southern Odisha in the first phase polls on April 10, 747 candidates were in the fray for the second phase polls on April 17.

The increase of voting percentage in the two phased elections has raised hopes for the opposition parties while it has increased the heart beat of ruling BJD, which is seeking to form government for the fourth consecutive time.