Home ODISHA LATEST Cong likely to finalise names of Odisha LS candidates today

Cong likely to finalise names of Odisha LS candidates today


Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Bhubaneswar, Feb 17:

The Central Election Committee (CEC) of the All India Congress Committee (AICC) will meet today to finalise the names of the candidates for all 21 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha.

The meeting, in the presence of Congress president Sonia Gandhi, AICC vice-president Rahul Gandhi and AK Antony, would take a final call on the candidates’ list submitted by the Pradesh Election Committee (PEC) that has recommended the names of Srikant Jena for Baleswar, Chandrasekhar Sahu for Brahmapur, Loknath Rath for Aska, Pradip Majhi for Nabarangpur, Bhakta Charan Das for Kalahandi, Amar Pradhan for Sambalpur, Aparajita Mohanty for Cuttack, Bijoy Mohanty for Bhubaneswar, Dolagobinda Nayak for Kendrapara, Ashok Das for Jajpur, Anant Sethy or Sangram Jena for Bhadrak, Harihar Karan for Kandhamal, Santosh Mohan Dev for Puri, Sarat Patnaik for Balangir, Bijay Toppo for Sundargarh, KP Singhdeo for Dhenkanal, Shyamsundar Hansda for Mayurbhanj, Kishore Patel for Bargarh, Pratima Mallick for Jagatsinghpur and Madhab Patnaik for Keonjhar.

The names of Hemanand Biswal (Sundargarh) and Sanjay Bhoi (Bargarh) have not been figured in its list, sources in the party said.

A meeting of the Screening Committee of the AICC had a prolonged discussion till late Sunday night under the chairmanship of Oscar Fernandez in which Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) president Jayadev Jena and leader of the Opposition Bhupinder Singh were present.