Odisha Sun Times Bureau
Cuttack, Aug 14:

The Twin City Commissionerate police have served notices to four Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC) corporators belonging to the Congress in connection with the ruckus during a meeting of the CMC on July 29.


Police have served notices to Giribala Behera, Anita Nayak, Arun Sethi and Sheikh Samim.

They have been directed to appear the police at the Purighat police station on or before August 20.

Earlier on August 9, five corporators- Ranjan Khan, Bikash Behera, Anil Niladri, Itishree Behera, Dayanidhi Nayak of the BJD were served with notices under Section 41-A of CrPC to appear before the police in connection with the incident.

It may be recalled here that Congress and BJD corporators got into an ugly fight and manhandled each other at a CMC meeting on July 29. The incident had taken place when the Congress corporators were staging a dharna by installing mosquito nets at the meeting alleging CMC’s failure to contain dengue outbreak in the city.

Meanwhile, three BJD corporators-Bijay Sahu, Bikash Behera and Itishree Behera this evening appeared before the police at the Purighat police station.