Home ODISHA LATEST CMC relief loot: Citizen committee files FIR against 2 MLAs, Mayor

CMC relief loot: Citizen committee files FIR against 2 MLAs, Mayor


OST Bureau
Cuttack, Feb 3:

Acting on the directive of the Odisha High Court, members of Mahanagar Nagarika Committee on Sunday filed an FIR against 32 persons allegedly involved in the loot of relief materials meant for the cyclone-hit victims from the office of Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC) in October last year.

The FIR has mentioned the names of 29 corporators, two local MLAs and the Mayor.

According to the Committee members, they had lodged a complaint in this regard with the Purighat police station on October 29 last year but the case has not yet been registered.

Taking into account the gross apathy of the police, the Committee later filed a writ in the Odisha High Court on December 9.

Stating that that the state Vigilance department, after its two-month probe, has not registered cases against the political leaders involved in the loot, the Committee members said the investigation by the anti- corruption wing was meant only to hoodwink the people.

Hearing the petition, the High Court later asked the Committee to take up the matter with the city DCP.

Acting on the order of the court, a delegation of the Committee led by Ashok Samal, Anadi Sahu, Maheswar Das, Rabi Mallick, Braja Biswal, Dr Rabi Ranjan Sahu and Mohinimohan Samal on Sunday met the DCP and submitted a memorandum demanding immediate action.

It may be mentioned that the relief materials were looted from the CMC office after the Cyclone Phailin on October 13.

Following a massive public outcry, chief minister Naveen Patnaik had later ordered a Vigilance probe.

As a punitive measure, the government later transferred the CMC commissioner Nihar Ranjan Mohapatra and suspended CMC officer Jaganarayan Kujur.

Besides, the BJD had also suspended the Cuttack City BJD president Madhusudan Sahu.