Home STATE CMC poll : Ama Odisha Party releases manifesto

CMC poll : Ama Odisha Party releases manifesto


OST Bureau
Cuttack, Feb 2:

The Ama Odisha Party (AOP) on Saturday released its manifesto for the Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC) elections scheduled on February 6.
Announcing the manifesto at a press meet here, AOP chairman Soumya Ranjan Patnaik said his party would waive the holding tax and take steps to make the millennium city free from mosquito menace if it forms the council.

“To provide employment opportunity to the unemployed youth, my party would set up trading centres and vending zones in the unused land in the city and provide monthly allowances to old men and women, widows and physically challenged”, Patnaik said.

Stating that stagnation of rainwater has become a major problem in the city, the AOP chief said that his party would use high-powered pumps to remove these unhealthy pools in the low-lying areas.

Referring to the growing traffic problems in the city, Patnaik said his party would take steps to construct flyovers in the busiest thoroughfare in the city.

Besides, the party would take steps to provide pucca cowsheds to the city-based milkmen, he informed.

For the homeless, AOP would construct a number of night shelters in the city and provide permanent shops to all street vendors within a year, he added.

There has been rampant corruption in the CMC as the Corporation has allotted several sanitation project works to certain private parties who have taken crores of rupees by producing false bills for work undertaken by them that are of a poor quality, he alleged.

“The people of Cuttack city who have been deprived of basic civic amenities for years know pretty well how the parties who have formed the council earlier have addressed the issues. We are sure, people will not be influenced or deceived by their lofty promises this time. In this critical junction, AOP remains the only alternative. Our party would work diligently to solve their problem,” Patnaik claimed.

Among others, senior leaders of AOP Mohd Shakil, Sriram Pandey, Brajakishore Biwal and Biren Das were present on the occasion.