Home ODISHA LATEST CMC now has five more wards

CMC now has five more wards


Cuttack, Aug 18:

Looking at the growth in population of Cuttack city, Odisha Government today increased the number of wards in Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC) from 54 to 59.

“The civic body would now have five more wards after delimiting the wards in accordance with the population,” CMC commissioner NR Mohapatra said.

While the previous wards of 1, 2 and 3 comprising Bidanasi, Abhinav Bidanasi, Bidyadharpur and Sandhapur have been reorganised to have three more wards, two additional wards have come up by splitting ward number 21, 23 and 53, 54, Mohapatra said.

The city’s population, as per the 2011 census has been pegged at 6, 10,189 and each of the 59 wards will have a voter list of a little over 10,000, he added. (PTI)